I have been so caught up in getting Dealing With The Duchess ready, along with a couple of other WIP I completely forgot about #AuthorLifeMonth. To make up for my tardiness, I’m sharing an excerpt from DWTD (unedited version).

Enjoy!

VDay

Eleanor slowly opened her eyes. The gray light of dawn was barely visible as it changed the room from total dark to shadowed. She was also staring right at Cameron’s muscular chest. They’d fallen asleep in each other’s arms. Slowly she raised her hand and began to run her fingers through the patch of curled brown hair.

He must have been awake. He pulled her tightly against him. “You keep that up and I’m afraid I’ll have to have my way with you again,” his deep, husky voice whispered, his hand tracing down her back to her bottom.

“You must take me home, Cameron. Before the servants rise.”

He chuckled. “That matters to you, El? You’re not a maid, you’re a widow. You have choices. Mine is that you let me love you once more.”

“It matters until my mother and sister are on their way to Paris. After that it doesn’t matter to me.”

He covered her hand with his and placed it on his hardened cock. “Please, El.”

“You make this very hard, Cameron,” She said, her small soft hand enveloping his throbbing cock. “I will not be your mistress.”

“I don’t want a mistress, El,” he replied as he rolled her onto her back and covered her with his body. She felt his member at her slick, wet opening, arching her back as he entered. “I want a wife. I want you, El.”

She moaned, feeling herself expand to accommodate him. “You are a wicked and arrogant man, Cameron Dudley.”

“I don’t deny either,” he replied his breathing becoming quick as he thrust into her harder, as he felt himself about to explode inside her.

They lay in each other’s arms a few moments later. Cameron pulled her closer.

“Marry me, Eleanor,” he whispered.

“I cannot have this discussion with you now.”

“Why not? What’s holding you back, El?”

“There is too much going on surrounding my family and father. I must get my mother and sister on their way to Paris. Then make sure my brother has a way to try and bring the dukedom back. It will be his in all rights, you know. At least, he can re-fund it. Once my father is gone from this earth, he will have it all.”

“So you’re going to make sure everyone else is happy and taken care of?”

“Cameron just let me get this done.”

“It could take years to get your brother established.”

“I wasn’t planning to wait years. I just need to see Alec has direction. He may think he does, but this scandal surrounding my father is going to affect him more than any of us.”

“And in the mean time? Am I supposed to wait on you while you do all this? Make your behind the scenes business deals. I’m not a patient man once my mind is made up, Eleanor.”

She sighed. “Please Cameron, at least, let me get my mother and sister out of London.”

“Agreed. Once that is done, we are going to have this discussion. Your brother doesn’t need coddling from what I’ve seen. He’s not the little boy you remember El.”

“Very well. Now if you don’t mind I need to dress and get home before everyone awakens.”

“The staff should be awake when you arrive.”

“Bugger the staff, Cameron. Will you walk me home?”

“Of course, I will. I do not let women walk alone at night.”

He left her at the front door of her home a short time later. He waited until she was safely inside.

“Your mother and sister leave at the end of the week. We’ll talk about what we discussed tonight then.” He leaned down and kissed her gently on her kiss swelled lips. “May I call on you later?”

“Yes, I would like that. Now go. Before someone sees you here.”

He kissed her again before turning and walking down her steps.

copyright2016JamieSalisbury

